Serbian host churches

The Serbian Orthodox Church comprises of majority churches in Serbia. Among other CEC members are churches in the Vojvodina region, Reformed Christian Church in Serbia and Montenegro, Slovak Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Serbia and United Methodist Church in Serbia. The CEC General Assembly is held upon invitation from and in cooperation with these churches in Serbia.


Serbian Orthodox Church is one of the autocephalous Eastern Orthodox Christian churches. It has been autonomous since 1219 and has played an important role in the development and preservation of the Serbian national identity. Read more about these churches, their leaders and history here.




Diocese of Bačka: Bačka region is surrounded by the great rivers such as Danube and Tisa from the east, west and south, and in the north its borders cross through Baje via Jankovec to Szeged. Read more about the history of these churches, monasteries and the bishops who led these churches here.


Novi Sad is a city chosen to be the European Capital of Culture in 2021. Novi Sad is the administrative, economic, cultural, scientific and touristic centre of the Autonomous Province of Vojvodina and the second largest city in Serbia. Read more about the city here.


The Reformed Christian Church in Serbia was originally part of the greater Hungarian Reformed Church. After the First World War, Hungary lost two-thirds of its territory, and the Hungarian Reformed communities beyond the new boarders of Hungary were forced to reorganise. The Hungarian Reformed communities in this new region ended up living as dual minorities, being Hungarian and Reformed. Read more here.


About cookies

We use cookies for website functionality and to give you a personalized experience on By continuing the navigation, you agree.